Tai Po Market Toilet Incident

Strolling through Tai Po market, my local for cheap clothes, fresh choi sum and lycees, on the lookout for some shorts as my latest pair of sexy denim mysteriously split down my backside.  Is this nature’s way of telling me I have been enjoying the local  cuisine a bit too much?   You wouldn’t believe it but I used to be petite and overnight  have morphed into XL and even an outrageous  XLL!

Imagine my delight when I spotted a promising pair.   And joy of joy, I can even try it on, a rare treat in HK.  I spied a toilet at the back, tried on the shorts and indeed it fitted.  Yippee!  Might as well use the toilet too.  Must be my lucky day.

My good mood was disturbed by loud banging on the door.  Two women’s voices screaming, ‘What the hell are you doing in there?  Using the toilet?  Pay a fine of $500 or we’ll call the police!’  Shocked I rushed out half dressed and curtly shown to the ‘real’ fitting room.  Retail Therapy had abruptly turned into nightmare in Tai Po.

Indeed there was a notice displayed on the toilet door stating exactly what they threatened.  The toilet is strictly not for customers’ use otherwise …!

Gripping the offending pair of denim shorts traumatised I decided I had better buy the shorts.  Goodness knows what they would do to me if I had shoplifted.  Chop off my hand with a cleaver so I can’t nick any more sexy shorts?  Luckily the shop assistant had calmed down and good news everybody, a call to 999 was not needed.  If they had insisted I wouldn’t have paid.  Let the police come.

To be honest, is their threat legal and hasn’t the police got better things to do, like go catch some real criminals.  In fact I have more leg to stand on suing them for intimidation and emotional distress.

This over the top reaction is a graphic indicator of the stress Hong Kongers are under daily.

Moral of the story:  Do not try shorts on in shop toilets and definitely do not use the w.c. if you want to hang onto your feel good factor.

About cho wan yau

Teacher by day poet/writer by night. Words have been my first love and will be my last. As a child I locked myself into the toilet devouring books which transported me to distant lands. Poetry shared penned from 2009-2010 in a titanic struggle to stay sane at Heartbreak Hotel. Please check it out on chowanyau@wordpress.com. Any comments or feedback welcome. Why not share your story with me, because we all have one, don't we?

Posted on June 10, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

