Billy Elliott’s Twin

Billy Elliott’s Twin
Billy Elliott’s Twin
I dream of
reading  my poems to a
hushed silence
witness tears striking a chord
A poet is born mission to tell
her story again and again
outsider orphan looking
in from the cold in the wings
yearning to belong
Never wanted to be famous
on the catwalk footballer’s wife
all I wanted was a cuddle
why you crying babe
to have a voice
No standing ovation MBE  award
Simply hear my pain words rhythm
dancing on page roar of ocean silent calm
before storm so my fingers go tap tap tap
driving them bonkers but they don’t know I am
Billy Elliott’s Twin I was born to bang away at me keyboard
me muse awkward early bird insomniac
a real slave driver cos like Pringles once pop I can’t stop
sorry mate clogging up your inbox when I am poet laureate
I’ll credit you need to get me fix
Billy Elliott’s Twin
About cho wan yau

Teacher by day poet/writer by night. Words have been my first love and will be my last. As a child I locked myself into the toilet devouring books which transported me to distant lands. Poetry shared penned from 2009-2010 in a titanic struggle to stay sane at Heartbreak Hotel. Please check it out on chowanyau@wordpress.com. Any comments or feedback welcome. Why not share your story with me, because we all have one, don't we?

Posted on July 25, 2013, in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

