Love

What is love?  Once upon a time I believed there were three people in the world who loved me unconditionally: my husband, daughter and sister.  I was wrong; one exited from my life post haste and the latter two remained. 

He wasn’t in love with me, the person I was but an ideal version in his head.  When reality deviated too far from the fantasy he went in pursuit of another. To give him credit he gave it his best shot, never missing a chance to ‘mould’ me into a better person by pointing out my faults.  Sadly the social experiment failed as the living version, no matter how hard she tried, never got close to the ideal.  On the contrary she became depressed and then had the audacity to be diagnosed with cancer not once but twice.  She was never going to cut it so he pulled the plug.

What is love?  It is not giving up on someone when even she has on herself.  Loving the person even though you may be angry or hurt by their words or deeds.  Accepting her eccentricities, bad habits, strong opinions though she can sometimes irritate you to hell and be hard work…  Wishing her well even if you are in a dark place yourself.  Seeing the good in her when others don’t or won’t and giving the benefit of the doubt.  Be the last person standing for her to lean on in a crisis.

 

About cho wan yau

Teacher by day poet/writer by night. Words have been my first love and will be my last. As a child I locked myself into the toilet devouring books which transported me to distant lands. Poetry shared penned from 2009-2010 in a titanic struggle to stay sane at Heartbreak Hotel. Please check it out on chowanyau@wordpress.com. Any comments or feedback welcome. Why not share your story with me, because we all have one, don't we?

Posted on August 3, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

