Pain (2)

 
Pain arrived in all shapes sizes by foot car on two wheels
Gathered round a circle physical emotional mental spiritual
We introduced ourselves spent the morning giving the respect due
 
It comes and goes like a regular with a loyalty card we spend
Christmas birthdays weddings funerals anniversaries together
and the nothing days I am afraid to over-identify cos then
you may like fish overstay your welcome and smell
 
Yet if I don’t make up the spare bed
you may turn against me increase the suffering
so like a difficult great-aunt I meet you at the station
wrap blankets round you sit you by the fire offer a hot mug of tea
feed you roast beef to appease and as the
light fades drug you with my finest Scot single malt
 
The best sages have taught us to embrace
what we can not change some things are simply
out of our control not what it seemed so
make peace with the demons in your head that dull ache in
your heart
 
take note of the baregnarled branches through the triangular
pane in the wooden ceiling the large french doors letting in light
beauty the garden full of life growing under the dark soil the
robin with the red breast a rare sight now perched on the
bird feed grounding me to Mother Earth to the rest of humanity in
their pain and joy I take a deep breath in out in out all comfy on
cushions with a blanket over me lying down eyes closed for a
moment I have been a negligent hostess
 
Pain departed in all shapes and sizes on foot by car on two wheels
back to their own lives physical emotional mental spiritual
same time again next week we meet to pay homage
About cho wan yau

Teacher by day poet/writer by night. Words have been my first love and will be my last. As a child I locked myself into the toilet devouring books which transported me to distant lands. Poetry shared penned from 2009-2010 in a titanic struggle to stay sane at Heartbreak Hotel. Please check it out on chowanyau@wordpress.com. Any comments or feedback welcome. Why not share your story with me, because we all have one, don't we?

Posted on August 6, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

