Shouldn’t but does

 
Shouldn’t but does
 
Shouldn’t bother me but
does you going off to Bulgaria
see a stranger you’ve fallen
in love with prepared to fly all those miles
hire a car other end
 
All these years I have been here 
next to you in bed on the couch
waiting yearning for
you to
communicate
acknowledge
validate my
existence worth sharing
yourself
want to know
who
I am
 
But
you
never did
 
Shouldn’t bother me but
does how you effortlessly
walked away from the past no lingering 
backward glance as if those eighteen years
never happened mattered
 
Are you a good actor
or you really don’t care
devoid of emotions just relieved
rid of irritating inconvenience
 
What does she offer that I
can’t
another delusion infatuation
 
You
may one day come to
your senses mourn the
loss of one who
loved you without reservation
seek and find her
gone
 
For she
will have changed
stronger pain is an
effective teacher no
longer needs nor loves
you
 
Made her live a Lie
crucified everything
she
believed
valued
 
Shouldn’t bother but 
does
you
 
         
 
About cho wan yau

Teacher by day poet/writer by night. Words have been my first love and will be my last. As a child I locked myself into the toilet devouring books which transported me to distant lands. Poetry shared penned from 2009-2010 in a titanic struggle to stay sane at Heartbreak Hotel. Please check it out on chowanyau@wordpress.com. Any comments or feedback welcome. Why not share your story with me, because we all have one, don't we?

Posted on August 8, 2013, in abandonment, coping with break ups, Dealing with emotions, No Wine or Men, Relationships. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. 😦 Okay this one totally has me choking up first thing in the morning. Sigh.

  2. Sorry but sadly all true

Leave a Reply

