Mama

I see you

in the rising sun

glow of the moon

i hear you

in children’s laughter

roar of the sea

i taste you

in chinese medicine soup

white rabbit sweets

i smell you

in fallen rose petals

newly steamed rice

I feel you

sunlight on my face

in the reflection of my soul

 

 

About cho wan yau

Teacher by day poet/writer by night. Words have been my first love and will be my last. As a child I locked myself into the toilet devouring books which transported me to distant lands. Poetry shared penned from 2009-2010 in a titanic struggle to stay sane at Heartbreak Hotel. Please check it out on chowanyau@wordpress.com. Any comments or feedback welcome. Why not share your story with me, because we all have one, don't we?

Posted on November 14, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. This is such a lovely poem about the memory of your mom. I like the way you used the five senses to evoke images of your mama.

    I am looking forward to reading more of your posts on Hong Kong. I was there two years ago and found it fascinating.

    Thank you for following my blog.:)

  2. Lovely poem, Mama G. I don’t know what’s wrong with my entry where I can’t ‘like’ your page. But it’s a good thing cos’ it makes me type my words. ‘White rabbit sweets’, it reminds me of my childhood, back in primary school. It’s hard to find them nowadays except if I happen to visit Chinatown. I’m sure Grandma G knows.

  3. yes and coconut sweets lots of things evoke my childhood and in london also they can only be bought in chinatown where mama spent most of her life and during her final journey we passed all her favourite haunts

Leave a Reply

