Elvis is leaving the building

Finally third time lucky Elvis is finally leaving the building in the form of a booked taxi to Heathrow this evening.  I have already checked in online and hopefully this unusually cold weather and threatening snow will not cause any delays.  Come hell or high water I am getting on that flight back to the shiny new life awaiting me patiently in the Pearl of the Orient.

Just to rub it in I have checked the weather in HK when I land on Friday late afternoon and it is mostly sunny and at a user friendly temperature of 21 degrees C.  Not too hot, not too cold and I escape the misery of the coldest winter for 100 years that has been bandied about for some time by the ever cheerful weather forecasters.  It may not crying wolf this time as it was sleeting briefly yesterday and I could feel that unforgiving chill factor and the cold seeping into my every pore.

For the last couple of days I have been packing and repacking and weighing the checked in luggage to be just under 20kg as I am not sure how reliable the ancient scales are.  I don’t want to risk paying for extortionate excess baggage.  Have also been culling from the hand luggage and had hoped I could get away with a cabin suitcase, a big leather satchel type and a laptop bag.  But that may be pushing it as it clearly states in Cathay Pacific’s free baggage allowance that only one cabin size case and one other item like a handbag or laptop, the operative word being or.  So I will have to err on the side of caution and obey the strict rules and abandon the laptop bag.  The chosen one, the satchel is brand new and genuine leather and will assist in my new professional image as teacher supremo.  Well, that’s the plan.  Who knows, as I have discovered to my cost the last 3 months in London, plans are for fools; just when you thought it was safe to go back into the water …

I return to HK with some trepidation and worry if I will be able to slot back into the manic pace and conservative culture quickly and easily or would I have gone back to square one like when I first landed back in April?  I had only just acclimatised to the hot humid climate and the way of life and then I was summoned back and all the rest is history.  I’ll keep you updated on how it goes.  No doubt my plants have died and my clothes may have gone mouldy as the dehumidifying gadgets have run their course …

Ah well at least the dogs will be glad to see me, I’ll be back to feed them day and night and buy them treats.  Well they are security and they are very dedicated and work as a team and there is nothing as a free lunch, not even from canines.

Today I want to go and lay some flowers on Mum’s grave and say goodbye and have a little chat with her about what is going on with me and how I miss her and love her.

About cho wan yau

Teacher by day poet/writer by night. Words have been my first love and will be my last. As a child I locked myself into the toilet devouring books which transported me to distant lands. Poetry shared penned from 2009-2010 in a titanic struggle to stay sane at Heartbreak Hotel. Please check it out on chowanyau@wordpress.com. Any comments or feedback welcome. Why not share your story with me, because we all have one, don't we?

Posted on November 21, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

