Less than shiny life looking bit shinier

Discovered in fact the fridge has died despite the light being still on; having spent the last two days obsessively disinfecting it with Milton’s sterilising liquid and investing in fridge fresheners only to find that even at max neither the fridge neither freezer compartment are cold.  Hence the rotten food and fruit flies …  It did seem weird how the food in the freezer could deteriorate to that extent after only a couple of months away.  I blame the jet lag and my troubled state of mind.  Now I can get it fixed or request a new one as it is only 6 months old, yippee, cos I am missing my cup of tea with milk. 

Another chink of light in the otherwise dark world of Mama G’s is that I suddenly remember I have a mobile I bought from China and I only need to buy a sim card from China Mobile for $50 which is like £4 and do pay as you go!!!  Then I can contact my parents, put a number on the supermarket ad and have a contact number for the fridge repair man!  What did we ever do without computers and mobiles??

Lastly if all my other parents haven’t abandoned me to my penniless state I may just, fingers crossed be able to make ends meet by tightening my belt.  Well I do need to go on a serious diet after over-indulging in London.  I now resemble a watermelon, short and round which isn’t my best look.

After the crisis I may even turn my mind to unpacking, sorting the flat and giving it a good clean. One good piece of news, the ancient television now works, somebody must have tweaked the outdoor aerial so I can catch up on current affairs, yeah and become braindead on Cantonese soap operas, trust me they are even worse than the British ones.  The acting is appalling, all you need is a pretty face and be young.  Acting skills optional and would be an advantage.  Ugly wrinklies like me need not apply.

Mama G is feeling a bit more upbeat and less desperate now, no need to jump off the building just yet: the rent will be paid, the fridge fixed and parents will be loyal.  Mmm watch this space …

 

About cho wan yau

Teacher by day poet/writer by night. Words have been my first love and will be my last. As a child I locked myself into the toilet devouring books which transported me to distant lands. Poetry shared penned from 2009-2010 in a titanic struggle to stay sane at Heartbreak Hotel. Please check it out on chowanyau@wordpress.com. Any comments or feedback welcome. Why not share your story with me, because we all have one, don't we?

Posted on November 24, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

