Shiny new life on track phew

The shiny new life I had hoped to return to is not terminal anymore; there is hope and treatment options, phew!  New shiny Samsung mobile is working perfectly and after much fumbling the techno-challenged me has worked out how to answer, text and even use What’s App and check Gmail.  That’s all I need.  After the dog saga, at last the fridge has been taken away for repairs; I suspect I will soon get the call to say no can do and fruitflies and larvae infestation is not covered by the warrenty.  But the best thing is I am rid of it, because getting goods to and from this obscure hamlet with the curse of the thousand concrete steps is the major problem.  No wonder fly tipping is rift.  Thank goodness the temperatures have dropped significantly and a mini-carton of milk satisfies my tea addiction and the posh supermarket next door means I can buy daily.  I tend to choose food that can keep and don’t need refridgerating.  I’ve managed so far, it takes some thought as any new lifestyle would and I need to go on a diet anyway and this way I am always eating fresh produce.  So goes my positive train of thought.

Best of all I’ve started tutoring which I love; the interaction with the kids on an individual personal level and doing what I’m good at.  Of course it is fantastic to be earning again, albeit small sums but every drop eventually turns into an ocean.  I’ve started putting the big notes away for the rent and just using the smaller $10, 20 and 50 notes for daily living.  I’m saving on transport cost by walking and getting fit at the same time.

I have a lot of spare time during the day as my services are not required till the kids come home from school or the weekend.  I may do some volunteering at a home near Sheung Shui with kids with physical disabilities.  Then there is also a part time cashier job at the posh supermarket next door but it only pays the minimum wage, which in HK is a measly $30 per hour, the equivalent of £2.50.  By contrast tutoring the rich kids I earn at least seven times that.  But then it is regular more secured work and instead of facing the four walls with time to kill, I could be interacting with customers and colleagues and learning more about the local culture.  I guess I have nothing to lose.  I could be fussy about the hours I do, say like two five hour shifts from morning to 2pm so I leave free slots for potential pupils.  If they are desperate they might take me on and the supervisor did say I had an advantage because I speak English.  A good command of English can really open doors here and if you can speak fluent Mandarin then the sky is your limit.

Less shiny is the pettiness and ignorance from the dog owner who has taken revenge on my calling for police assistance by chucking the feeding and water bowl down the hill.  I am crossed as I paid good money for them.  I had used thin plastic ones but they bit through them.  But I take a deep breath and tell myself to rise above it all.  Maintain the moral high ground is my mantra.  What I don’t get is you use them as guard dogs but you don’t feed them properly and a neighbour forks out instead, surely you’d be jumping for joy rather than sabotaging.  When I first spotted the bowls down below my initial response was oh sod it.  But then I thought why should she make me stop feeding them if I want to.  I refuse to let them go hungry; it is cruel.  I also thought I am really on a tight budget, counting every cent, wouldn’t it be more sensible to save on the dog food?  The pragmatic me says yes but the compassionate me says an emphatic no.  How would you like it if you were constantly hungry?  Luckily I’ve never experienced that and I hope I never will but I can imagine.  Life is life and it is only us foolish homo sapiens who’ve crowned ourselves king of the animal kingdom. 

So the shiny new life is getting shinier by the minute …  Watch this space.  Mama G over and out.

About cho wan yau

Teacher by day poet/writer by night. Words have been my first love and will be my last. As a child I locked myself into the toilet devouring books which transported me to distant lands. Poetry shared penned from 2009-2010 in a titanic struggle to stay sane at Heartbreak Hotel. Please check it out on chowanyau@wordpress.com. Any comments or feedback welcome. Why not share your story with me, because we all have one, don't we?

Posted on December 1, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

