A Well-Earned Rest and Glorious Vista

Russ Towne's A Grateful Man

“I have walked that long road to freedom. I have tried not to falter; I have made missteps along the way. But I have discovered the secret that after climbing a great hill, one only finds that there are many more hills to climb. I have taken a moment here to rest, to steal a view of the glorious vista that surrounds me, to look back on the distance I have come. But I can only rest for a moment, for with freedom come responsibilities, and I dare not linger, for my long walk is not ended.” ― Nelson Mandela (Source: Nancy Lynn McKinley via Ute Lark)

It is now up to those who are still among the living in this realm to remain on the trail that Nelson Mandela so brilliantly blazed, and keep walking. He has achieved great things and deserves his rest. May he never stop enjoying…

View original post 9 more words

About cho wan yau

Teacher by day poet/writer by night. Words have been my first love and will be my last. As a child I locked myself into the toilet devouring books which transported me to distant lands. Poetry shared penned from 2009-2010 in a titanic struggle to stay sane at Heartbreak Hotel. Please check it out on chowanyau@wordpress.com. Any comments or feedback welcome. Why not share your story with me, because we all have one, don't we?

Posted on December 6, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thank you for your re-blog of my post. May your readers enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed creating it about a man who did such great things.

    • You’re welcomed. It is a great quote particularly the part ‘with freedom comes responsibility’ and the bit about many more hills to climb; that’s how I feel now, just climbed a few but yep there’s more! C’est la vie, that’s what makes life inteesting, right?

Leave a Reply

