Awards

I’m going to apologise in advance for posting something controversial and I mean no offence but freedom of speech still exists in HK just so I am just going to say it.

I don’t mean to rain on anyone’s parade nor is it sour grapes, but what is it with all these awards?  Personally I am just thrilled and grateful that there are fellow bloggers/writers/poets/kindred spirits who take the time out of their busy lives to actually read my posts and the loyal few even leave thoughtful comments.  I love the dialogue we have, some of them ongoing, like with Jade.  I love the idea of banging away at my keyboard, transferring the thoughts in my head onto the laptop, clicking on ‘Publish Post’ and across thousands of miles and connecting with some kind soul.  We will probably never meet and that doesn’t matter.  Sometimes with strangers you can open up more because they have no axe to grind and you won’t accidentally be pushing their button with what you wrote.  Maybe that is why counselling is effective and helpful.  It really doesn’t matter what you say to your therapist, he is going to just go home, forget about it and get on with his life.  It is just a relief to be heard, to be able to voice your deepest anxieties, concerns, even if it is for a fee.

Similarly with Freshly Pressed blogs, they have been specially selected and brought to our attention.  Does that imply those not featured are not worth reading? 

I honestly don’t care how many followers or likes I get, I am just happy my posts get read, even if it is by just one person.  I feel this society is obsessed with being the best, the most successful, the richest, the top ten this and that and if you are not then you are automatically labelled a failure.  How many kids can come first in an exam in class? 

I see the supermodels, celebrities in the media but I never come across them on the streets, in my supermarket.  I wonder if there is a special factory breeding this superior species that has unflawed complexion, slim figure, the bumps are all in the right places and the right proportion.  In HK all the beautiful celebrities, actresses, singers etc all seem to come out of the same mould and so are the men who are considered eye candy.  Acting skills doesn’t seem very important as long as you look good. 

Is the ordinary Joe in the street always doomed to be second best, not good enough?

About cho wan yau

Teacher by day poet/writer by night. Words have been my first love and will be my last. As a child I locked myself into the toilet devouring books which transported me to distant lands. Poetry shared penned from 2009-2010 in a titanic struggle to stay sane at Heartbreak Hotel. Please check it out on chowanyau@wordpress.com. Any comments or feedback welcome. Why not share your story with me, because we all have one, don't we?

Posted on December 18, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. YAY!! Been thinking the same. Well said ma’am!

  2. No need to apologize for the truth.

  3. ”I feel this society is obsessed with being the best, the most successful, the richest, the top ten this and that and if you are not then you are automatically labelled a failure”. – Very true, especially here in the UK sadly. Huge obsession with celebrity, wealth and status – I wish our society would value people for themselves more.

Leave a Reply

