Have your cake and eat it

As I am having an on-going debate with a fellow blogger on the existence of God it occurred to me that He always wins.  If I challenge Christians on why God the merciful and benevolent allows suffering and evil then I am reminded of Original Sin, you know Adam and Eve and the apple and snake story.  Isn’t it typical that it is the weaker sex, the woman who succumbs to temptation and gets us kicked out the Garden of Eden?  Thanks a bunch Eve, now we have to toil all our lives, get old, fall ill and die.  They also produce another secret weapon, Freewill.  It is not that God doesn’t care, in fact it really hurts Him to see us suffer but it is us mortals that choose to behave this way and we must therefore bear the consequences.  Basically it is all our fault, starting from the fact that Eve shouldn’t have bitten into that damn apple and then things just went downhill from there.  We continued to make wrong choices down the generations and that is why the world is the mess it is.

Nothing to do with God and Freewill means even the Omnipotent’s hands are tied.  How could he possibly intervene and put a stop to injustice, world poverty, Aids, oppression, abuse of human rights, starvation, human trafficking including children and so on and so forth

It seems that God doesn’t get burdened with any responsibility for the state of the world but gets all the credit when things go right.

If God ever retires and His position becomes vacant I wouldn’t mind applying.  Just hope there is no sex discrimination for this post.

 

About cho wan yau

Teacher by day poet/writer by night. Words have been my first love and will be my last. As a child I locked myself into the toilet devouring books which transported me to distant lands. Poetry shared penned from 2009-2010 in a titanic struggle to stay sane at Heartbreak Hotel. Please check it out on chowanyau@wordpress.com. Any comments or feedback welcome. Why not share your story with me, because we all have one, don't we?

Posted on December 27, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I just think God isn’t nearly as involved as many believers think. The credit for good but not bad is absurd, in my opinion. I think I was eight years old the first time I asked a nun how God could be all powerful and all good at the same time when so many bad things happen. Free will doesn’t explain it for me; an all-powerful God can slap down any will anybody has. So I needed a better explanation, too. Never got one. Then I met someone whose theory made the most sense to me of anyone’s I’d heard (a little paraphrasing but mostly verbatim): “There’s a God, but he really doesn’t give a shit about every little thing we do. The things that human action can’t explain, I credit to God – good and bad. Everything after that is just people doing their thing.”

    • Do you believe in a ‘God’, if so, why?

      • I do. Because if I could be in control of my own universe at the very least, I would be. But I’m not. I don’t have that power, and I don’t know anyone who does. But I believe every natural disaster, for example, is evidence of a power greater than humans have. Or, on the positive side, a medical recovery that’s inexplicable and wasn’t expected is, to me, evidence of a power greater than humans have. I call that God.

  2. So you don’t subscribe to any particular God in a certain religion but believe in a supernatural/spiritual force beyond the physical and here and now?

Leave a Reply

