Shut the f… up

Two old friends whom I haven’t been in touch with for almost twenty years have responded in a similar way to my tale of woe.  It basically boils down to ‘Shut the fuck up …do you think you are the only one with problems and shit to deal with?  We will listen for a while but then we have things to do …’  Ok.  Bit of a conversation stopper.  Empathy zilch.  Sympathy nope.  Tough love or just plain harsh?

 

About cho wan yau

Teacher by day poet/writer by night. Words have been my first love and will be my last. As a child I locked myself into the toilet devouring books which transported me to distant lands. Poetry shared penned from 2009-2010 in a titanic struggle to stay sane at Heartbreak Hotel. Please check it out on chowanyau@wordpress.com. Any comments or feedback welcome. Why not share your story with me, because we all have one, don't we?

Posted on December 29, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I cannot imagine my friends to say that… if it was me they wouldn’t be my friends anymore. you’re having a tough time and you need time to get over it

  2. Well one said it diplomatically and when I told him how hurt I felt he did apologise and tried harder to be empathetic the next time we met. But the other one really just gave it to me when I requested she stopped sending me jolly positive clips on how wonderful the world was and she said she respected my wishes and space but that i should respect others’ too by not going on about my problems, because everybody has her own and things to do.

    Yep message received loud and clear. Yes I am going to stay well clear I was married to someone like this and his mother, scares the shit out of me. I really don’t need this while I am working on rebuilding myself and recovering from the emotional wounds inflicted by exactly people like this.

    Thanks for your comment, you are absolutely right, I really don’t need ‘friends’ like these.

  3. AirportsMadeSimple

    Harsh. Sometimes you have to fire “friends.” You need positive, supportive people in your life! Good luck and hang in there. D

    • Just did. I am far better and more decisive in cutting out crap in my life now. Thanks for the comment. Yep hanging in there by the skin of my teeth and not letting go for dear life ha ha

      • AirportsMadeSimple

        That’s good news!! You can do it. Keep those around you who support you. Best to you in 2014!!

  4. Burn burn…real friends love you no matter what…listen and are there to support…those are “we like you when all is well”…surround yourself with good people that YOU deserve.

Leave a Reply

