Take the time to read this – it will put things into perspective – Top Five Regrets

wise words

PORTABLE LIFE SKILLS DAILY WISDOM GUIDE

.

Take the time to read this – it will put things into perspective

.

.

Top Five Regrets

By Bronnie Ware

.

For many years I worked in palliative care. My patients were those who had gone home to die. Some incredibly special times were shared. I was with them for the last three to twelve weeks of their lives.

 

People grow a lot when they are faced with their own mortality. I learned never to underestimate someone’s capacity for growth. Some changes were phenomenal. Each experienced a variety of emotions, as expected, denial, fear, anger, remorse, more denial and eventually acceptance. Every single patient found their peace before they departed though, every one of them.

 

When questioned about any regrets they had or anything they would do differently, common themes surfaced again and again. Here are the most common five:


1. I wish I’d had the…

View original post 708 more words

About cho wan yau

Teacher by day poet/writer by night. Words have been my first love and will be my last. As a child I locked myself into the toilet devouring books which transported me to distant lands. Poetry shared penned from 2009-2010 in a titanic struggle to stay sane at Heartbreak Hotel. Please check it out on chowanyau@wordpress.com. Any comments or feedback welcome. Why not share your story with me, because we all have one, don't we?

Posted on January 6, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. A good re-blog…It really does puts into perspective what’s important in our lives. Which one was the most important for you?

  2. The first staying true to myself i cared too much what others thought and let it ruin my peace of mind and dictated my life and caused depression. What I have learnt is if you try to please they are never satisfied and you lose respect; far better to stick up for yourself and have your say whether listened to or not.

    What’s your most important?

Leave a Reply

