Love Limited

Please I’d like a refund

I seemed to have bought the wrong brand

Oh really madam why’s that

Well you see I thought I was getting the unconditional one

The one guaranteed to last forever

I am sorry to hear that

But unfortunately it is company policy not to do refunds or exchanges

We state clearly that the onus is on you the customer to check your purchase

Ah but I didn’t realise there was a Love Limited Edition

It lasted for my first brush with cancer But ran out half way through the recurrence

Leaving me high and dry

Madam I’m afraid that is a common mistake

Next time make sure you don’t drop your glasses

Read the small print

The two look suspiciously similar

Thanks for the advice

But I doubt there’ll be a next time

About cho wan yau

Teacher by day poet/writer by night. Words have been my first love and will be my last. As a child I locked myself into the toilet devouring books which transported me to distant lands. Poetry shared penned from 2009-2010 in a titanic struggle to stay sane at Heartbreak Hotel. Please check it out on chowanyau@wordpress.com. Any comments or feedback welcome. Why not share your story with me, because we all have one, don't we?

Posted on January 7, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I read your words. Wise and observant. They make me chuckle or they make me cry or the make me think. Or all three at the same time. And I wonder … what power in that bottled bottle. The cork kept half on. When that cork flies – what then. Man!! My imagination is racing with what might then come through your keyboard!

  2. Don’t doubt there’ll be a next time. No self-fulfilling prophesies allowed.

  3. Not at all, TD, please don’t apologise, honestly I am happy for you and everybody else who does find happiness and learn to trust again after being hurt badly. Thanks for reminding me there is always hope. I guess I was just saying that at this stage being a very slow learner I have only just accepted my single status and coming to terms with the pain and that I am not ready to jump in the deep end yet, if ever. If a charming honest good man charges along and sweeps me off my feet and we ride off into the sunset then who knows but as yet all I see are frogs. Tbh I am enjoying my own space and being my own boss and the kid is grown so mummy is free to play.

Leave a Reply

