Not now Bernard

Do you know the classic children’s book, ‘Not now Bernard’?  I used to love reading it to the kids at school.  If you don’t know it, it is about a boy called Bernard whose parents never have time for him and one day when he warned them of a monster intruder they dismissed him with the usual, ‘Not now Bernard’.  Of course they were eaten.  The moral of the story …

I sometimes think the end of the world will not be heralded by apocalypse as predicted in Revelations but just Mother Nature taking a stand and saying enough is enough.  Time to send in the Flood, destroy this world beyond ruin and start again or not.

Why is it that nobody ever has enough of money nor time?  Even if they are retired you never seem to be able to make an appointment to see your friends?  What the hell are they so busy doing all day and every day that they can’t spare a couple of hours for a catch up?

We seem to be spending all our time and energy chasing our own tail or racing faster and faster on the treadmill of Life and meeting others’ expectations?  What is it all about, anyway??  What if God forbid we should just stop, get off that treadmill, would our world collapse, would Earth stop spinning, would we be struck down by lightning or would we gain some distance and perspective and clarity?

Or is ‘Sorry I don’t have time’ just code for ‘No’ and is etiquette for polite refusals and rejection.  Whatever the reason your friendship is obviously not priority or all that important in their eyes to make time.

Ladies, if a guy never has time for you, then that is code for I’m not that into you and one should just get the message and not chase him and lose one’s dignity. 

I wonder if on our deathbeds with Mr Death in his black hoodie and scythe all ready to row us across the Lake of Oblivion whether we could say, ‘Not now, I am not quite ready, there is that call I need to make to my mother whom I haven’t spoken to for years or that apology I need to send my best friend …’

What will be your last thought??

About cho wan yau

Teacher by day poet/writer by night. Words have been my first love and will be my last. As a child I locked myself into the toilet devouring books which transported me to distant lands. Poetry shared penned from 2009-2010 in a titanic struggle to stay sane at Heartbreak Hotel. Please check it out on chowanyau@wordpress.com. Any comments or feedback welcome. Why not share your story with me, because we all have one, don't we?

Posted on January 7, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

