let’s talk ageing

The Cosmetic Industry earns billions exploiting our fear of getting older and God forbid even looking our age!  Shock horror and some go to extremes subjecting themselves to unnecessary surgery to ensure eternal youth. Whether the magic creams keep the wrinkles at bay and rejuvenate is anybody’s guess. Maybe they have a placebo effect. We see what we want like the wicked stepmother in Snow White gazing into the mirror.

I am actually determined to grow old disgracefully but graciously.  No amount in the world would persuade me to go under the knife unless it threatened my life, like cancer. I have a pathological fear of needles and being wheeled like a sacrificial lamb to the operating theatre kicking and screaming.

Certainly l want to keep in shape and look good but keep in as natural as possible.  I have become addicted to being pampered at the beauty parlour with facials and massage.  Good news is here it doesn’t cost an arm and a leg to get clearer complexion and ease those old creaking bones. 

The one concession I have made is dyeing my grey hair to look 10 years younger.  A little ammonia does wonders; why splash out thousands to be cut up?

 

About cho wan yau

Teacher by day poet/writer by night. Words have been my first love and will be my last. As a child I locked myself into the toilet devouring books which transported me to distant lands. Poetry shared penned from 2009-2010 in a titanic struggle to stay sane at Heartbreak Hotel. Please check it out on chowanyau@wordpress.com. Any comments or feedback welcome. Why not share your story with me, because we all have one, don't we?

Posted on January 11, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. My mum’s friend has fully subscribed to the never look your age at all costs philosophy. She sorts of looks like a Chinese version of the Bride of Wildestein. She’s happy though and she’s a lot of fun to be around

    • I guess it is none of my business, they are not doing any harm except to themselves and paying for the privilege. It is very subjective, Whatever rocks their boat, it’s just not for me. I’d rather travel …

Leave a Reply

