Too much love in the air

Kinda dreading Chinese New Year and Valentine’s Day, the days marked out to celebrate Love, be it the family bond or the romantic kind; both of which I am lacking.  Christmas wasn’t such a big deal here but Chinese New Year is the most important festival in our lunar calendar.

Plucked up the courage to ask to be invited to the traditional family reunion meal on new year’s eve and was third time lucky.  Kind of embarrassing and bit disappointing when turned down though in a nice way but I was so determined not to spend yet another special day on my own that I persevered and learned to have thick skin.  This was the last friend I knew well enough that I felt I could risk asking and not be thought of as impudent.

I am sure I will have a good time and have adverted the onset of feeling sorry for oneself which was threatening.  Sometimes one just has to take a leap in the dark and hope for the best.  After all what did I have to lose?  No risk no gain right?

About cho wan yau

Teacher by day poet/writer by night. Words have been my first love and will be my last. As a child I locked myself into the toilet devouring books which transported me to distant lands. Poetry shared penned from 2009-2010 in a titanic struggle to stay sane at Heartbreak Hotel. Please check it out on chowanyau@wordpress.com. Any comments or feedback welcome. Why not share your story with me, because we all have one, don't we?

Posted on January 29, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. We all deserve happiness in our lives, even in the face of struggles and hardship. Besides, chinese new year is also about the renewal of one’s spirit right? 🙂

  2. Good for you for having the courage and perseverance to make sure you weren’t celebrating alone. Have a good time!

Leave a Reply

