Who stole the show?

Things always catch us by surprise.  I have posted about depression, life and death, loss, heartbreak, betrayal, cancer, divorce, starting a new life, getting off the floor, near homelessness, poverty, bereavement.  All deep and the big questions of Life.  What is the meaning of Life?  Why me?  Why me again?  Love, trust, family, friendship and so on and so forth

Yet the most likes I have got from one post is the one about my new baby, Cleo, the golden retriever, you know, the one with her photo.  Weird, isn’t it?  The canine has stolen my thunder.  To hell with cancer and death, ah isn’t she beautiful?  Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind.  This is how it should be.  A celebration of love, of nature, of the bond between dog and woman!

Lovers often credit Fate for meeting.  I feel the same with Cleo, my soulmate.  She truly has a beautiful soul.  I am glad we have found each other.  We are going to be inseparable until death do us part, be it hers or mine.  She wouldn’t have it any oither way.

My daughter says it is really weird to see you with a dog, when I presented Cleo for the first time to her via Skype.  You may find it hard to believe but all my life I have been terrified of dogs.  I think they will bite me and the barking is intimidating.  I thought they were over-rated and their owners made a silly fuss of them. 

Cleo has made me into a believer.  She has so much love to give and so do I.  We are a good team.  Just what the doctor ordered, so good for my wounded spirit and broken heart.  I am sure my daughter loves me unconditionally but she is sometimes critical and irritated by me.  Cleo is the only living being that I feel accepts me absolutely and totally, no censure, no judgement, no seeing faults and room for improvement.  She just loves you.  End of, no more, no less.

She is the best new year’s present ever.  I am blessed.  2014 can only get better and better.

 

About cho wan yau

Teacher by day poet/writer by night. Words have been my first love and will be my last. As a child I locked myself into the toilet devouring books which transported me to distant lands. Poetry shared penned from 2009-2010 in a titanic struggle to stay sane at Heartbreak Hotel. Please check it out on chowanyau@wordpress.com. Any comments or feedback welcome. Why not share your story with me, because we all have one, don't we?

Posted on February 1, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Congratulations. The best that friend I ever had was a half German Shepherd and half wolf dog named Baron. There’s a dog on my blog that you see quite often, his name is Baron also. I put him up there because he reminds me of my old dog

  2. Dogs are amazing…best friends forever…I have my Bette (feline ); Thank you for visiting and following my blog btw, I am truly honoured. You write beautifully!

    • I’ve had cats all my life. They are less work and far more independent whilst I am finding Cleo is more expressive of her affection and very loyal.

      No worries, the honour is all mine. Thanks for your kind words.

      • My Desirée died at 13 yrs old on 9/11…have not had the courage to get another dog; living alone, working long shift hours, I felt a cat was wiser for now.

  3. Cleo and unconditional love; wonderful blessings to start 2014…

  4. Nobody can love you unconditionally as a dog can. A dog is always grateful to see you and you’re right always loyal and affectionate. A true best friend.

Leave a Reply

