why are there still monkeys

Especially for my friend Paul

gregfallis.com

I didn’t bother to watch the ‘debate’ between Bill Nye and Ken Ham. It would be like watching a ‘debate’ over which is the better school — Harvard or Hogwarts. One is real, the other is imaginary. I don’t care if there are people who actually believe in Hogwarts so long as they don’t claim there’s a rational and scientific basis for that belief.

In the same way, I don’t care if some folks believe the Earth is only a few thousand years old, or that there’s no such thing as evolution. But if they put forth an argument that science supports that idea, then I’m left with no alternative but to assume those people are just stupid.

Case in point: Matt Stopera of Buzzfeed asked some of the creationists at the Nye/Ham bunfight to write a message to, or ask a question of, evolutionists. Here are some of…

View original post 802 more words

About cho wan yau

Teacher by day poet/writer by night. Words have been my first love and will be my last. As a child I locked myself into the toilet devouring books which transported me to distant lands. Poetry shared penned from 2009-2010 in a titanic struggle to stay sane at Heartbreak Hotel. Please check it out on chowanyau@wordpress.com. Any comments or feedback welcome. Why not share your story with me, because we all have one, don't we?

Posted on February 6, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Dear Cho Wan, if this is a gift for me – Thank You. And If not, my apologies for borrowing another’s.

    Because I love this post. The invitation to dissect and forensic and debate each point … bash, bash, bash. And all that happens is more noise and more entrenchment. I just love a good science. I am in awe of a good science. I love a good verse. I am in awe fo a good verse. And I love most how we “should believe” one or the other. Happy to have both makes me wishy washy.

    I love being wishy washy! I love your gift. And most importantly I hope your paracetemol count is going down. BIG HUG …. thank you 🙂

    • Dear Paul no it was indeed intended for me, as soon as I read it, I thouhgt of you and our scintillating debate. But you are being greedy like God your mate, you want your cake and eat it. If I remember my bible verses and sunday school teachings well, they are somewhat at odds with Science.

      And thank you for your concern, being a tough old bird I have resisted the addiction to painkillers and have foregone the paracetamols for two longs now. Occasionally I succumbed to rubbing the pain relief cream on my sore arm so that I can carry out chores as I have yet to train Cleo to cook and clean. I did not foresee the unfortunate accident happening so early in our love affair. And being an abandoned single lonely divorcee adrift far away from home with no family and few friends, I must alas fall back on my resources. C’est la vie. But I shall not bemoan my fate, I have food on the table and a roof over my heart. I shall count my blessings and cultivate the art of gratitude. Indeed it could have been far worse. I could be in a coma, Cleo could have been run over, the possibilities are endless …

      I hope you don’t live too near Clapton and the explosion.

  2. correction: intended for you

  3. Oh dear my reply is full of mistakes that maybe I did bang my head my sincere apologies Paul.

    • Well I must need new glasses then – I didn’t spot any as I read your words.

      Greedy? Now that is a compliment, thank you.

      And I hope the move to cream means slowly pain is less and life is more. It was your description of the “teeth bit” which made me realise this was more than just a big scrape and a humourous story.Ouch!!

      And thank you for your concern. I had to scour google to find any mention of an explosion (so all good here):
      “An investigation’s under way into an explosion and fire at an electricity sub station near Clapham Common. It happened late on Wednesday night close to Sainsbury’s. No one was hurt but the blast forced dozens of people out of their homes and businesses.”

      Here’s hoping the cream is less and less needed in HK.

Leave a Reply

