The problem with ‘like’

Inspired by a post by dysfunctional literacy.

The problem with ‘like’ on fb, other social media and blogs is people click that button for the most inappropriate and tragic of posts.  My status could read My mum died last night and in the blink of an eye there’ll be likes from friends and friends of friends.  In a sane non-social media dominated world, who would do a thumbs up for someone’s mother’s death?  It is not a good thing unless you hated your mother but she still left you her huge inheritance and cut all your siblings out of the will.  Otherwise no.

Whoever invented this like button should be shot!  Does anyone know where it first reared its ugly head?  Was it fb, which celebrates its 10th anniversary?  Is it really that young?  I can’t remember a pre-fb time or the era of no computers and people resorted to pen and paper and the humble typewriter.  Do you remember those white bits of correction paper you had to put in front of the offending key called tippex?  If you do then you are admitting your age!  Things were oh so simple then, not a hacker in sight nor the computer going down stopping the world turning.

The good old days.  I must be getting old.  The youths of today …

 

About cho wan yau

Teacher by day poet/writer by night. Words have been my first love and will be my last. As a child I locked myself into the toilet devouring books which transported me to distant lands. Poetry shared penned from 2009-2010 in a titanic struggle to stay sane at Heartbreak Hotel. Please check it out on chowanyau@wordpress.com. Any comments or feedback welcome. Why not share your story with me, because we all have one, don't we?

Posted on February 7, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 28 Comments.

  1. I soooooooooooooooooo agree with you, There are those who would argue that ‘like’ is a sign to say “Hi” but that can be argued by “Uh there’s a comment box you could of said something in” mm…

  2. This was a decent post! (I am not gonna annoy you by liking it tho 🙂

    • Well I don’t mind likes if they are genuine and appropriate. When we are talking about natural disasters and thousands have lost their homes and loved ones then it is really insensitive and downright cruel to ‘like’!

  3. Oh my god, you’re in rare form with this one! And yes! I remember the corrector paper – though I hadn’t remembered the name of it. So we’re both old. 🙂

  4. Oh, so true – a tactless ‘like’ can really wound. :S I’ve seen likes on posts revealing divorce, breakups, depression, and abuse – mostly in a harmless way to show interest toward that person, I think, but certainly a very insensitive and careless way of showing it. 😦

  5. Eight likes and counting!! 🙂

  6. Ha ha ha
    In some places like where I live. The Like button is like a pat on the shoulder (there, there, I hope you are better now), or a symbol of silent support.

    I understand what you wrote in this post. I guess some people just use the like button the way the Indonesians do. 😀

    It’s like the expression, “when you have nothing nice to say, do not say anything”.
    So, when we do not know the right thing to say for a certain situation, we simply press the like button to show support.
    😀

    • Thanks Hari for the clarification and induction into the mentality of the young. Generation gap or occupational hazard of being an English teacher? In my day there were no computers, yes, I am that ancient! My best birthday present from my dad was a typewriter for my 11th birthday and the second best was a black lacquered music box with the revolving ballerina and a pink background.

      • I joined FB in 2008, I think. I had never really “used” it. For me, it was like a fancy internet forum where one can tag photos, etc.

        I used to have the same thought about how the younger folks use the “like” button. It took me a while before I finally “got it” and got used to it. 😀

        When a friend of mine was hospitalized, he got more than 100 likes. It was so weird, I think, that his friends were “liking” it. That was when I learned that they actually wanted to show support. They were not celebrating him being sick. 😀

      • You made me laugh when you say the younger folk! You don’t class yourself in that category? What does that make me?

      • Ha ha ha
        I have been labeled as an old soul since I was a kid!

        Now that I really think about it, I realize that people did not give me toys for my birthday. They gave me fancy chocolates, books, drawing tools, other art stuffs, clothing accessories, etc.

        Well, I love preserved food, tea, old songs and a ton of other things that most younger folks has no interest in! 😀

      • May I respectfully ask how old you are?

      • I’m in my ate twenties. I’ll tell you that. L-O-L!
        I have to admit that I always appear older than my real age.
        May need to apply Olay or SK-II soon. Ha ha ha ha ha !

      • Were you this ‘old’ at birth Hari? An old head on young shoulders but a wise one!

      • Ha ha ha.
        I wish I could call myself wise!
        After experiencing many difficulties, one ought to sound seasoned! 😀

      • Many difficulties in your 20’s? Kid l have bad news for you it’s only just started

      • Ha ha ha ha ha
        I think I have paid most of my dues for life.
        😀

Leave a Reply

