Rescue Mission

An old dear friend has taken it upon himself to launch a ‘Save Mama G’ rescue.  Apart from throwing gems of wisdom my way, he has a friend lined up to do a complete makeover.  This is to get me back on the horse and on track for my shiny new life. Maybe he’s fed up of hearing tales of woe and me crying in public.  Maybe he doesn’t want to be mistaken for a bastard!  Who knows?

The Mission is to get me looking like the Tuition Queens featured in huge posters on buses.  Young, confident, smiley beautiful faces with credentials who could give celebrities a run for their money.  Looks and brains, who can resist?  I’d hate to tell the friend I may be past it, that this is Mission Impossible; but being an eternal optimist she’s going to give it a damn go. 

So next week we are going to shop for on the pulse professional gear.  Looking the part is all important in Hong Kong.  You can be casual but it has to be subtly smart casual.  It is a very shallow society and to succeed you have to play the game.  A haircut is urgent too as are facials.  I told her I am having them already and she looked dubious.  Are they not working?  Have I been conned???  I paid good money.

So the damsel in distress is to be rescued from the tower while the fire breathing dragon is keeping watch.  Will it be successful?  Watch this space.  Bless their little cotton socks.

However I am gutted as she thought I was over 55.  No one but no one has ever told me I look older than my age.  I am surprised she didn’t suggest a face lift, not that I can afford one.  I have even been told I look 10 years younger and no scalpels were hurt in the process.

Now you’ll have to excuse me, I am just going to jump off the nearest skyscraper.  It was nice knowing you.  Mama G. Over and out, for the last time …Please no flowers to the funeral home but donations to the Rescue Mama G. Foundation will be most welcome.

 

About cho wan yau

Teacher by day poet/writer by night. Words have been my first love and will be my last. As a child I locked myself into the toilet devouring books which transported me to distant lands. Poetry shared penned from 2009-2010 in a titanic struggle to stay sane at Heartbreak Hotel. Please check it out on chowanyau@wordpress.com. Any comments or feedback welcome. Why not share your story with me, because we all have one, don't we?

Posted on February 12, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. “I am gutted!” A little bit of UK in HK! A lot of HK in UK. Beautiful as always!!

Leave a Reply

